Amy Butler Birdie Sling – part 1

Once I figured out the modifications to the Amy Butler Birdie Sling pattern, I was ready to get going. I picked up this pattern at Sew Sisters, but you can get it all over the web, including here.

So my stash is big enough now that I can dig through and find suitable materials for an impromptu project. This is both satisfying and somewhat scary at the same time. sigh.

What I used for this project

Ikea Stockholm Blad in grey and white
Metro Living – grey circles on cream background

20120605-234954.jpg

20120605-235005.jpg

Amy Butler Birdie Sling Bag Pattern
Lisa Lam’s The Bag Making Bible – section on flush zip pockets, and zipped bag top
Sew, Mama, Sew tutorial on zipper pockets
white thread, purple and magenta zippers, assorted fabric remnants for pockets etc

20120605-235028.jpg

20120605-235044.jpg

20120605-235053.jpg

The pictures above show the inner lining with mini pocket, the exterior of the bag (minus the handles) and a close up of the zippered pocket on the bag front. I finished the bag late tonight, and will snap some pictures tomorrow.. good night for now 😉

4 thoughts on “Amy Butler Birdie Sling – part 1

  1. lovely bag! great minds must think alike because i’ve made a birdie sling in the very same ikea fabric, too, and that plummy fabric looks an awful lot like an echino print i got a while back… 🙂

  2. wow, my first comment. thanks… yes, you’re right, it IS an echino print… this is a remnant I could not throw away. I used the rest to make a messenger bag of an apple laptop. I see you used the idea fabric in your banner… love this fabric! did you know it comes in a deep blue?

Leave a Reply

