A Visit to Sew Sisters

One of the reasons I love visiting Sew Sisters is all the interesting folks who pass through. This wonderful woman was kind enough to show me her patchwork quilt embellished with hand embroidery – she called it Memories, and many of the fabric bits had small emblems embroidered onto them to represent memories of her life. Truly inspiring!

I love talking with the staff, they are incredibly knowledgeable. As a newbie quilter, I sometimes feel like I should be following some sort of quilting path, and it’s helpful to know that I’m allowed to like everything, and can try different things. After chatting with Jeannie and Judy, I started browsing around, and on a whim, I did pick up several subtle prints to start a quilt for mum. This is a deviation for me, as I’m always drawn to bold bright, very modern, graphic prints. I started with two white prints with flower bunches that are so soft and pretty, and I have no idea what I’m going to do with them! I’m mixing in soft pastel pinks and lilacs, and blue and green for some contrast. My stash has yielded a pale pink and deep pink Kona solid that will compliment nicely, but NOTHING else from my stash fits the palette. Why am I not surprised? 😉

Here is a list of fabrics collected so far:

  • Rose bouquet ivory – French Hatbox by Tanya Whelan for FreeSpirit
  • Plum geometric – Molly’s Meadow Group fron Henry Glass & Co
  • Pale Lilac with scroll motif – unknown
  • Pink Geo Squares – Wellesly Collection by Ro Gregg for Northcott Fabrics
  • Bright Pink – Kona cotton by Robert Kaufman
  • Baby Pink – Kona cotton by Robert Kaufman
  • Floral Pink – Rhapsody in Bloom from Maywood Studio
  • Heavenly Peace – Carnation Evergreen – Verna Mosquera’s collection for FreeSpirit
  • Light Teal – Blooming colors – Benartex
  • Roses – white – Rhapsody in Bloom from Maywood Studio

I love those huge bunches of pink roses in the background. Now that I look at it, I think I will need another blue or green as well, and will have to source a taupe/grey to round things out, as there’s an awful lot of pink! The deep Kona pink reads almost fluorescent in this shot, I may have to rethink it, but it will stay for now. I’m well aware that the stash could read as two different quilt palettes (bottom vs top half), but I think that’s half the fun. Now to come up with a pattern to match it.

Here are some of the digital swatches for comparison:

Leave a Reply

