PhotoWerks 101: best blogging tips on taking better photos

I take terrible pictures. my favourite quilts don’t show well on my blog. And because I’m giving away my quilts, I want to learn how to take better pictures of them (some of them are now lost in the chaos of certain teenagers’ rooms, never to be seen again)… so I’m just documenting some sites I like so I can reference them the next time I need to shoot a quilt 😉

From WhimseyBox: a great how to using natural light and just a few tools to help. She discusses and shows subjects in different lighting, how to pick the best light source and why, and shows how to set the stage for a great picture. Lots of unedited pictures to show the before and after.

From Delia Creates: an introduction on how to maximize your camera functions to take great pictures… lots of talk about f/stops and aperture, but surprisingly I was not tooooo confused 😉 She also provides some additional reference sites.

From Make magazine: cheap tools that you can make or buy to help take better photos. Includes a link on how to make your own light box/stage for photographing items. Not sure I could replicate this to shoot a quilt, but smaller items would be fine.

I could not believe it, but there’s even a blog article specifically for shooting quilts. Every wanted to know how to photograph your quilts with that professional touch? Check out the tips and tricks from Holly Knott Finger Lakes Art – Shoot That Quilt!

Leave a Reply

