Getting into a quilting mode

I have been doing EVERYTHING but sewing. and that’s hard to do. You have to understand, my quilting table is in the middle of my apartment. I can’t miss it when I’m here. It’s convenient. In fact, I’m sitting on my couch right now, writing this post, and it’s less than 3 feet away.

My last quilt has been so well received that It’s left me a little intimidated with my past self. I’ve been searching for inspiration, I’ve sorted my stash into piles of great future quilts, and found about 6 UFOs in the process.

There’s a part of me that thinks, maybe I should just pick another town, and do another map quilt. That would be fun to do. But I have about 3 quilt piles for kids, and only one kid would like the map – he’s into cars and trucks, planes and trains…. 🙂

So I’m thinking to revisit the plaid quilt idea again. I loved that quilt, the block is not hard but requires a bit of patience, and is not conducive to chain piecing, unless I put it all together randomly, which I likely won’t do.

I’ve been reading a lot of design, home improvement and quilting magazines, and some books too. Lots of great ideas…. I was really impressed with this article (“Iowa Art quilters”), where about 50 quilters got together to create a wonderful series of quilts based on a photo of a barn.

20140914-111210-40330935.jpg

20140914-111211-40331255.jpg

It’s an amazing idea, and one that brings a lot of creative minds together. I often feel isolated in my work, it makes me think I should find a guild to join. Problem is that I don’t know where I fit in. Am I an art quilter or a quilter? Or just a sewing enthusiast?

Switching gears a bit. I HAVE to share this book – Journey to Inspired Art Quilting – Jean Wells does a great job in presenting the mindset of an art quilter…. I really loved this book, and the quilts are just amazing!

20140914-111941-40781993.jpg

Well. I guess it’s time to get off the couch and get moving with the day. This has been a lazy Sunday morning, and I’m no closer to getting a project going. Hope your day is more productive! Happy Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Getting into a quilting mode

    • I pulled out a UFO, and old quilt top I worked on back in 2001… I’m going to make it into a table cloth. It just needs a hem, that should be enough to get me back on the sewing table! Mandy, thanks so much for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

